Stats Header/Footer Template - | WBTV Charlotte

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#53
Ken Giles
ERA S K
4.99 12 31
Team: HoustonHt / Wt: 6-2 / 205
Position: RPBorn: 9/20/1990 Birthplace: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 7th Round by Phillies (2011)


Latest News
July 11 9:21 PM PT10:21 PM MT11:21 PM CT12:21 AM ET0:21 ET4:21 GMT12:21 9:21 PM MST11:21 PM EST10:21 PM CST11:51 PM VEN8:21 UAE11:21 PM CT-Ken Giles allowed three runs on three hits without recording an out as the Houston Astros defeated the Oakland Athletics 6-5 on Tuesday. Giles did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.99 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
July 7 4:34 PM PT5:34 PM MT6:34 PM CT7:34 PM ET19:34 ET23:34 GMT7:34 4:34 PM MST6:34 PM EST5:34 PM CST7:04 PM VEN3:34 UAE (+1)6:34 PM CT-Ken Giles allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Houston Astros defeated the Chicago White Sox 12-6 on Saturday. Giles struck out one, ending the game with a 4.11 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
July 4 7:52 PM PT8:52 PM MT9:52 PM CT10:52 PM ET22:52 ET2:52 GMT10:52 7:52 PM MST9:52 PM EST8:52 PM CST10:22 PM VEN6:52 UAE (+1)9:52 PM CT-Ken Giles recorded his 12th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Houston Astros defeated the Texas Rangers 5-4 on Wednesday. Giles struck out two, ending the game with a 3.94 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
June 30 3:52 PM PT4:52 PM MT5:52 PM CT6:52 PM ET18:52 ET22:52 GMT6:52 3:52 PM MST5:52 PM EST4:52 PM CST6:22 PM VEN2:52 UAE (+1)5:52 PM CT-Ken Giles allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Houston Astros lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-2 on Saturday. Giles struck out one, ending the game with a 4.08 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
June 27 2:11 PM PT3:11 PM MT4:11 PM CT5:11 PM ET17:11 ET21:11 GMT5:11 2:11 PM MST4:11 PM EST3:11 PM CST4:41 PM VEN1:11 UAE (+1)4:11 PM CT-Ken Giles allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Houston Astros defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-6 on Wednesday. Giles did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.23 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
June 24 2:18 PM PT3:18 PM MT4:18 PM CT5:18 PM ET17:18 ET21:18 GMT5:18 2:18 PM MST4:18 PM EST3:18 PM CST4:48 PM VEN1:18 UAE (+1)4:18 PM CT-Ken Giles did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Houston Astros defeated the Kansas City Royals 11-3 on Sunday. Giles struck out one, ending the game with a 4.39 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
June 22 8:23 PM PT9:23 PM MT10:23 PM CT11:23 PM ET23:23 ET3:23 GMT11:23 8:23 PM MST10:23 PM EST9:23 PM CST10:53 PM VEN7:23 UAE (+1)10:23 PM CT-Ken Giles fell to 0-2, allowing one run on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Houston Astros lost to the Kansas City Royals 1-0 on Friday. Giles struck out one, ending the game with a 4.56 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
June 20 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)9:45 PM CT-Ken Giles allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Houston Astros defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 5-1 on Wednesday. Giles struck out one, ending the game with a 4.38 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
June 17 2:06 PM PT3:06 PM MT4:06 PM CT5:06 PM ET17:06 ET21:06 GMT5:06 2:06 PM MST4:06 PM EST3:06 PM CST4:36 PM VEN1:06 UAE (+1)4:06 PM CT-Ken Giles did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Houston Astros defeated the Kansas City Royals 7-4 on Sunday. Giles struck out one, ending the game with a 4.56 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
June 13 10:07 PM PT11:07 PM MT12:07 AM CT1:07 AM ET1:07 ET5:07 GMT13:07 10:07 PM MST12:07 AM EST11:07 PM CST12:37 AM VEN9:07 UAE12:07 AM CT-Ken Giles recorded his 11th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Houston Astros defeated the Oakland Athletics 6-3 on Tuesday. Giles struck out two, ending the game with a 4.76 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
June 10 3:23 PM PT4:23 PM MT5:23 PM CT6:23 PM ET18:23 ET22:23 GMT6:23 3:23 PM MST5:23 PM EST4:23 PM CST5:53 PM VEN2:23 UAE (+1)5:23 PM CT-Ken Giles walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.2 scoreless innings as the Houston Astros defeated the Texas Rangers 8-7 on Sunday. Giles struck out two, ending the game with a 4.98 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
June 7 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST9:28 PM CST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)10:28 PM CT-Ken Giles allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Houston Astros defeated the Texas Rangers 5-2 on Thursday. Giles struck out one, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
June 3 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST9:07 PM CST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Ken Giles allowed two runs on three hits in 1.0 inning as the Houston Astros lost to the Boston Red Sox 9-3 on Sunday. Giles struck out two, ending the game with a 5.21 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
May 31 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST9:12 PM CST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)10:12 PM CT-Ken Giles recorded his 10th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Houston Astros defeated the Boston Red Sox 4-2 on Thursday. Giles struck out two, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
May 28 1:28 PM PT2:28 PM MT3:28 PM CT4:28 PM ET16:28 ET20:28 GMT4:28 1:28 PM MST3:28 PM EST2:28 PM CST3:58 PM VEN0:28 UAE (+1)3:28 PM CT-Ken Giles allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Houston Astros defeated the New York Yankees 5-1 on Monday. Giles struck out one, ending the game with a 4.76 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
May 27 3:09 PM PT4:09 PM MT5:09 PM CT6:09 PM ET18:09 ET22:09 GMT6:09 3:09 PM MST5:09 PM EST4:09 PM CST5:39 PM VEN2:09 UAE (+1)5:09 PM CT-Ken Giles allowed three runs on three hits without recording an out as the Houston Astros lost to the Cleveland Indians 10-9 on Sunday. Giles did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.06 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
May 23 2:13 PM PT3:13 PM MT4:13 PM CT5:13 PM ET17:13 ET21:13 GMT5:13 2:13 PM MST4:13 PM EST3:13 PM CST4:43 PM VEN1:13 UAE (+1)4:13 PM CT-Ken Giles recorded his ninth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Houston Astros defeated the San Francisco Giants 4-1 on Wednesday. Giles struck out one, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
May 20 8:00 PM PT9:00 PM MT10:00 PM CT11:00 PM ET23:00 ET3:00 GMT11:00 8:00 PM MST10:00 PM EST9:00 PM CST10:30 PM VEN7:00 UAE (+1)10:00 PM CT-Ken Giles recorded his eighth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 0.2 innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the Cleveland Indians 3-1 on Sunday. Giles did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
May 18 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST9:07 PM CST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Ken Giles recorded his seventh save, allowing no runs on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Houston Astros defeated the Cleveland Indians 4-1 on Friday. Giles struck out one, ending the game with a 3.77 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
May 16 10:29 PM PT11:29 PM MT12:29 AM CT1:29 AM ET1:29 ET5:29 GMT13:29 10:29 PM MST12:29 AM EST11:29 PM CST12:59 AM VEN9:29 UAE12:29 AM CT-Ken Giles recorded his sixth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Houston Astros defeated the Los Angeles Angels 5-3 on Tuesday. Giles struck out two, ending the game with a 4.05 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
May 9 3:22 PM PT4:22 PM MT5:22 PM CT6:22 PM ET18:22 ET22:22 GMT6:22 3:22 PM MST5:22 PM EST4:22 PM CST5:52 PM VEN2:22 UAE (+1)5:22 PM CT-Ken Giles recorded his fifth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Houston Astros defeated the Oakland Athletics 4-1 on Wednesday. Giles did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.38 ERA and 0.89 WHIP on the season.
May 9 9:56 PM PT10:56 PM MT11:56 PM CT12:56 AM ET0:56 ET4:56 GMT12:56 9:56 PM MST11:56 PM EST10:56 PM CST12:26 AM VEN8:56 UAE11:56 PM CT-Ken Giles recorded his fourth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Houston Astros defeated the Oakland Athletics 4-2 on Tuesday. Giles struck out one, ending the game with a 4.76 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
May 1 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST9:12 PM CST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)10:12 PM CT-Ken Giles fell to 0-1, allowing four runs on four hits in 0.1 innings, as the Houston Astros lost to the New York Yankees 4-0 on Tuesday. Giles struck out one, ending the game with a 5.23 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST8:44 PM CST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Ken Giles recorded his third save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Houston Astros defeated the New York Yankees 2-1 on Monday. Giles struck out three, ending the game with a 1.80 ERA and 0.60 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 1:58 PM PT2:58 PM MT3:58 PM CT4:58 PM ET16:58 ET20:58 GMT4:58 1:58 PM MST3:58 PM EST2:58 PM CST4:28 PM VEN0:58 UAE (+1)3:58 PM CT-Ken Giles recorded his second save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Houston Astros defeated the Los Angeles Angels 5-2 on Wednesday. Giles struck out one, ending the game with a 2.00 ERA and 0.67 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 9:01 PM PT10:01 PM MT11:01 PM CT12:01 AM ET0:01 ET4:01 GMT12:01 9:01 PM MST11:01 PM EST10:01 PM CST11:31 PM VEN8:01 UAE11:01 PM CT-Ken Giles did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Houston Astros lost to the Los Angeles Angels 8-7 on Tuesday. Giles did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST3:34 PM CST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Ken Giles did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Houston Astros defeated the Chicago White Sox 7-1 on Sunday. Giles struck out one, ending the game with a 2.57 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST9:18 PM CST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)10:18 PM CT-Ken Giles did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Houston Astros defeated the Chicago White Sox 10-0 on Friday. Giles did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 4:59 PM PT5:59 PM MT6:59 PM CT7:59 PM ET19:59 ET23:59 GMT7:59 4:59 PM MST6:59 PM EST5:59 PM CST7:29 PM VEN3:59 UAE (+1)6:59 PM CT-Giles remained unavailable for Thursday's game at Seattle due to back tightness.
Analysis: Giles hasn't pitched since Saturday, though the Astros don't believe the injury will require a DL stint. Still, it may be a good idea to pick up Chris Devenski, who'd be the likely candidate to close games should Giles remain out for a few more games.
Apr. 14 4:36 PM PT5:36 PM MT6:36 PM CT7:36 PM ET19:36 ET23:36 GMT7:36 4:36 PM MST6:36 PM EST5:36 PM CST7:06 PM VEN3:36 UAE (+1)6:36 PM CT-Ken Giles did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Houston Astros lost to the Texas Rangers 6-5 on Saturday. Giles did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 8:40 PM PT9:40 PM MT10:40 PM CT11:40 PM ET23:40 ET3:40 GMT11:40 8:40 PM MST10:40 PM EST9:40 PM CST11:10 PM VEN7:40 UAE (+1)10:40 PM CT-Ken Giles recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 0.1 innings, as the Houston Astros defeated the Minnesota Twins 2-0 on Monday. Giles did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 7:43 PM PT8:43 PM MT9:43 PM CT10:43 PM ET22:43 ET2:43 GMT10:43 7:43 PM MST9:43 PM EST8:43 PM CST10:13 PM VEN6:43 UAE (+1)9:43 PM CT-Ken Giles allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Houston Astros defeated the San Diego Padres 1-0 on Saturday. Giles did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 6 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST9:24 PM CST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)10:24 PM CT-Ken Giles allowed one run on three hits in 1.0 inning as the Houston Astros lost to the San Diego Padres 4-1 on Friday. Giles did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 1 3:28 PM PT4:28 PM MT5:28 PM CT6:28 PM ET18:28 ET22:28 GMT6:28 3:28 PM MST5:28 PM EST4:28 PM CST5:58 PM VEN2:28 UAE (+1)5:28 PM CT-Ken Giles did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Houston Astros defeated the Texas Rangers 8-2 on Sunday. Giles struck out one, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 29 3:44 PM PT4:44 PM MT5:44 PM CT6:44 PM ET18:44 ET22:44 GMT6:44 3:44 PM MST5:44 PM EST4:44 PM CST6:14 PM VEN2:44 UAE (+1)5:44 PM CT-Ken Giles allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Houston Astros defeated the Texas Rangers 4-1 on Thursday. Giles struck out one, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2014 Phi 3 1 1 - 1 44 0 0 45.2 25 7 6 1 11 1 64 0.79 1.18
2015 Phi 6 3 15 - 20 69 0 0 70.0 59 23 14 2 25 2 87 1.20 1.80
2016 Hou 2 5 15 - 20 69 0 0 65.2 60 32 30 8 25 1 102 1.29 4.11
2017 Hou 1 3 34 - 38 63 0 0 62.2 44 16 16 4 21 0 83 1.04 2.30
2018 Hou 0 2 12 - 12 34 0 0 30.2 36 17 17 2 3 0 31 1.27 4.99
Career 12 14 77 - 91 279 0 0 274.2 224 95 83 17 85 4 367 1.13 2.72


Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2017 Hou Total 0 2 2 - 3 7 0 0 7.2 12 10 10 3 5 1 10 11.74
    LDS 0 0 1 - 1 2 0 0 3.0 3 2 2 1 0 0 2 6.00
    LCS 0 1 1 - 2 3 0 0 3.0 5 3 3 1 3 1 5 9.00
    WS 0 1 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.2 4 5 5 1 2 0 3 27.00
Career 0 2 2 - 3 7 0 0 7.2 12 10 10 3 5 1 10 11.74


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 267 100 95 97.4 57.67
Slider 196 90 84 86.8 42.33

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Powered by Frankly